Organising information

At our Secondary School Library, we organise information in many different ways. We have a dedicated drive on our Network which only allows Library Staff access. Here we save instructions, procedures, templates, information etc. so that it is easily accessible if a staff member is away. We also have our own personal drive where we can save information that will not necessarily be required by anyone else. I store important correspondence received through e-mail in an “Important stuff” folder in Microsoft Outlook. (Very technical term, I know). Along with separate folders from different departments or committees, eg. I.T. Dept. and O.H.& S. correspondence.
Now that I have signed up to Evernote and Diigo I intend using each of these tools. I’ve already copied the ‘Sticky notes’ from my Desktop into Evernote and I will use Diigo to share useful links that I use as the A/V Technician, with the other Library staff here at work.
Many of our students do not have good workflow and organisational strategies and get themselves into a mess. It is assumed that students starting secondary school come with good I.T. skills and knowledge. We have found that this is not always the case. We are often trying to help students locate pieces of work they know they saved somewhere??? I have asked our Director of I.T. if all year 7 students could have introductory I.T. classes in the first term of school to familiarise them with our school network and to teach them how to organise, save, forward and print off their work. To date this hasn’t happened!

One thought on “Organising information

  1. Good suggestion! Students often don’t understand the school’s set up when in comes to the intranet or their folder situation and need direct, consistent instruction from someone who does understand — combine that with a tendency to be what i call ‘trigger happy’ (press the enter key first, ask questions later) and as you mention, workflow is nonexistent.
    Good luck with your IT dept. It would definitely be a worthy orientation session.
    All the best,
    Catherine
    (for the PLN team)

Leave a Reply

